July 2018

Select Size

Five countries are included in the range of polar bears: Greenland, the United States, Russia, Norway, and Canada.  Polar bears have been excessively hunted over the last two hundred years, and licensed hunting is still allowed in Greenland, the United States, and Canada.   Greenland and the United States have laws making it legal for indigenous people to hunt polar bears.  However, Canada allows trophy hunters from around the world to hunt polar bears and allows the furs to be traded internationally.  An estimated 1000 polar bears, legally protected, threatened, and endangered, still lose their lives at the hand of man each year.